Skip to content

The Silence of Bones

Save 18%
Original price $17.09
Current price $13.99
SKU

I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak;
Ears, but I mustn't hear;
Eyes, but I mustn't see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman's secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

June Hur's elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

roduct details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Square Fish (April 20, 2021)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1250763673
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250763679
  • Product Dimensions: 5.4 x 8.2 inches

About the Author

June Hur was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there (classes started at 8 a.m. and ended at 10 p.m.). She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. She began writing her debut novel, The Silence of Bones, after obsessing over books about Joseon Korea. When she's not writing, she works as an assistant for the public library or can be found journaling at a coffee shop. June currently lives in Toronto with her husband and family. Follow her on Twitter @WriterJuneHur.